The Blue Devil in a Time Machine

“I’m a blue devil in a time-machine:
run-a-way child, run-a-way
devil goin’ to get his due today, child!”

– graffiti on a prison cell wall circa. 2153 B.C.E.

The stranger came to town today.
Nobody knows from where;
he’s got this funny look in his eye

but nobody seems to care;
he seems to stare right through you,
like you was a ghost, or ghoul.

Someone said he took up with Rita
down at the red light tavern;
and he’s been seen at night

carrying a briefcase and a cane;
some say he’s up till dawn, singing;
but no one will blame him,

because he’s the Sleeper Man,
and his eyes never close.
Today he came to me

and asked me to tea,
and I, like an idiot, said yes, indeed.
I’m standing here in the dark

watching the last car go away,
not knowing if he’ll come or stay.
At nine I feel a cold hand

upon my slender neck,
a slow pulsation and a boon.
I feel a knife explode.

Now I know who he is,
but don’t ask me to resist;
this dark love is real and true.

Now if white lie be told:
I just tell the girls
he’s just a slick ‘blue devil

in a time-machine’,
a gypsy joker, a fool
who fell for me;

and now he’s slipped below
where all good children go,
and angels desecrate;

to that vacuous paradise
this side of hell,
where time stands still

and we like lover’s spin
in cruel delight, a respite
from flesh and bone

our wedding vows
undone, bestowed
to the gray stones

below the threshold,
where that black world
that is our alien life erupts.

– Steven Craig Hickman ©2014 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

13 thoughts on “The Blue Devil in a Time Machine

  1. Steven that was fabulous! I love the story – I love all of your stories, like reading and being unable to resist turning to the next page. Will you invite me to the wedding? I’ll be sure to wear black. 😉

    Like

    • Why sure… 🙂 I’ll even provide you with the black and white roses… and some ambergris for your cheeks. With a lovely royal blue orchids for your bouquet with a diamond cluster just below your navel. And Bird of Paradise feathers for your pretty head… haha!

      Now all I need to do is figure out why I’m getting married … and, we’re fine… 🙂

      Like

      • Well hell (yes I know you like that word lol) – left up to me, I might just have to jack up my AC in order to induce another heat wave. lolol.

        I’ve been a bi-polar writer from morning to night today – well I guess it’s now tomorrow. It’s the onion … that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 😉 I’m eating grapes and listening to Blue Oyster Cult.

        Like

      • Heading back to the fridge for some sharp cheese – and just switched to Van Morrison. How I do love the darkness of night – nocturnal in nature – though I also enjoy daybreak —- it’s the in-between I don’t fancy all that much.

        Like

Leave a Reply

