What is Wisdom?

tumblr_lxtk92GNgX1r47bczo1_500

“What profit hath a man of all his labour
which he taketh under the sun?” 
…..– Ecclesiastes or, The Preacher

Should we who have seen too much
seek out the dark or light; know
the wisdom of Job, or laughter’s
rash intrepid gleam – Aristophanes;
break a horse, tame it’s might, seek
the holy cowl or Mammon’s pride.
If I wear a Lamborghini’s smile,
a crocodile upon my feet, a serpent’s
tail around my waist, a diamond clasp
upon my tie, will this change me
to a gentlemen or the devil’s hind;
if I strut upon the stage, wink
my way to Hollywood, woo the woman
of my heart – a model from New York,
will this give me what I want, a life
both quick and sure, full of pleasantries
and days of leisure and affluence; or shall
I order death upon a battlefield, turn men
to dust with armament and war, take nations
down into the pit with me where love
has no honor nor grace a reckoning undone
in a little room; or shall I live my life for lust
and pleasure, or would you have me be wise
beyond measure, give my substance to the poor,
strip the rich of all their burdens, cast a doubtful
eye upon the world and pass it by;  or say:

“This is no place for you or I
to live out
our lives, no world
at peace where trust 
is bread
and mortal truth our daily fare,
where prayer is kindness
and those who
hold power
give it back a thousand-fold,
and deem their work as nothing;
where men
and women are finally equals,
sharing in all things; 
where children
grow up early wise and strong,
to know and be at peace with everyone,
cherish
only this that is the outer
garment of their minds and lives,
the given breaking over each
and every fractured moment of the times:
the savant and the fool come home to roost;
human bonds of trust bring joys at last,
and paradise is just another word for Love.”


– Steven Craig Hickman ©2015 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

2 thoughts on “What is Wisdom?

  1. Lately, I read a reinterpretation of the Apotheosis of Heracles arguing that the poisoned shirt the hero wore at the end of his life is a symbol/image of knowledge. It clung to him so fast that in trying to rip it off, Heracles, tore his flesh with it, exposing the bones. The image you have chosen for this post is fantastic, though I have no idea what it is exactly.

    Like

    • Yea, I looked for the artist but was unable to find the link. It reminded me of Bataille’s Acéphale, which was originally formed by Andre Masson to symbolize the death of Reason, the headless formlessness of thought.

      Like

Leave a Reply

