Utopia

UTOP

Sometimes the world’s a scary place, and I
like some lost traveler keep looking for Utopia.

I arrived in the forbidden city today.

She looked at me as if I were a beast.
Is this the way strangers meet strangers?

Old men and women scuttle off into dark alleys.
I follow but find that no one is there.

I hear the children laughing.
I turn toward the sun but the blur of reality is too much.

I felt the gun touch my temple. Cold.
The shot felt like a lost object. Defenseless, forgotten.

When I came into the village the faces smiled back.
I knew this was the place. I knew I could not stay.

Some places exist only in movement.
Constructing such worlds is a terror too hard to believe.

– Steven Craig Hickman ©2015 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

One thought on “Utopia

Leave a Reply

